Axis labels missing from south polar plot

Hi,

I am new to pygmt and gmt (I normally use Cartopy) and would like to explore plotting polar stereographic projections for the Arctic and Antarctica. I started with a simple plot, which works fine for the North Pole (Arctic, projection=“S0.0/90.0/5i”), but for the South Pole (Antarctica, projection=“S0.0/-90.0/5i”) there are no axis labels showing.
I can’t work out why. Any help appreciated. Code for both below:

Missing axis labels in this plot (south polar plot)

import pygmt
fig = pygmt.Figure()
fig.basemap(region=[0, 360, -90, -60],
projection=“S0.0/-90.0/50/5i”,
frame=[“a”, ‘+t"Antarctica"’])
fig.coast(shorelines=True)
fig.savefig(“antarctica.png”)

Axis labels show ok in this one (north polar plot)

import pygmt
fig = pygmt.Figure()
fig.basemap(region=[0, 360, 60, 90],
projection=“S0.0/90.0/5i”,
frame=[“a”, ‘+t"Arctic"’])
fig.coast(shorelines=True)
fig.savefig(“arctic.png”)

This gives you the annotations, however, it does not work in combination with a title. Not sure why, maybe @maxrjones can answer this question.

import pygmt

fig = pygmt.Figure()
fig.coast(region = [0, 360, -90, -60], projection = "S0.0/-90.0/50/5i", shorelines = True)
fig.basemap(frame = ["a", "WSNE"])
fig.show()

Thanks. That’s very helpful. It would be nice to know why adding “WSNE” is necessary in the Southern Hemisphere but not the north. However, having a working solution is the main thing. I guess the title issue is less important (at the moment anyway).

Here is an example with the title:

import pygmt

fig = pygmt.Figure()
fig.coast(region = [0, 360, -90, -60], projection = "S0.0/-90.0/50/5i", shorelines = True)
fig.basemap(frame=["a", 'WNSE+t"Antarctica"'])
fig.show()

I agree that the annotations should be plotted automatically. Since this is an upstream issue, you could open a bug report in the GMT repository (https://github.com/GenericMappingTools/gmt/issues) (instructions are here).