GMT Community Webex Meeting May 14 (UTC-04:00)

It is time for the ~monthly online meeting of GMT folks. The GMT developers and others interested in contributing to GMT will be discussing issues relevant to developing, maintaining, documenting and testing GMT. The agenda for this meeting:

  1. Touching base in these troubled times
  2. UNAVCO GMT for Geodesy online course
  3. GMT development news
    a) Better naming conventions internally
    b) Simplified glue for modules and libraries
    c) Complete separation between shared libraries
    d) CMake updates and automatic setup
  4. Developer documentation status
    a) Debugging GMT
    b) New modules, new supplements
  5. Update on the GMT Postdoc plans
  6. GMT 6.1 release plan

The meeting is open to anyone. All meetings will be recorded and posted on the GMT site. Because NOAA currently forbids the use of zoom, we are trying Webex this time so Walter can join. Details on joining:

Thursday, May 14, 2020
1:00 pm | (UTC-04:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada) | 1 hr 30 mins

Meeting number (access code): 908 956 592
Meeting password: Go2GMT
Host key: 889848

1 Like

Corresponding time in other timezones:

Location Local Time Time Zone UTC Offset
Berlin (Germany - Berlin) Thursday, 14 May 2020, 19:00:00 CEST UTC+2 hours
Lisbon (Portugal - Lisbon) Thursday, 14 May 2020, 18:00:00 WEST UTC+1 hour
Washington DC (USA - District of Columbia) Thursday, 14 May 2020, 13:00:00 EDT UTC-4 hours
Chicago (USA - Illinois) Thursday, 14 May 2020, 12:00:00 CDT UTC-5 hours
San Diego (USA - California) Thursday, 14 May 2020, 10:00:00 PDT UTC-7 hours
Honolulu (USA - Hawaii) Thursday, 14 May 2020, 07:00:00 HST UTC-10 hours
Wellington (New Zealand - Wellington) Friday, 15 May 2020, 05:00:00 NZST UTC+12 hours
Melbourne (Australia - Victoria) Friday, 15 May 2020, 03:00:00 AEST UTC+10 hours
Corresponding UTC (GMT) Thursday, 14 May 2020, 17:00:00

https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/meetingdetails.html?year=2020&month=5&day=14&hour=17&min=0&sec=0&p1=37&p2=133&p3=263&p4=64&p5=770&p6=103&p7=264&p8=152

1 Like

Dear all:
You might just need only the Access Code 908 956 592
and the Password Go2GMT

You might see my screen name as Nolvia, but either way I will be there.

walter

Here is the link to the shared notes: https://docs.google.com/document/d/17t2IylcrMkr3miQJ0iVr5fPzNpw2I9tEyqwnjBOUN8A/edit?usp=sharing

Running a bit behind, apparently, please be patient.

Trying to join, but keep getting ‘meeting number not found’!

Ah, I was wondering where I screwed up not being able to join …

@pwessel kindly post here when you get it up and running. Thank you!

Will do, issue is on Walter’s end between him and his secretary trying to set it up.

Please send link to meeting. Cannot find any way to ‘Join Meeting’.

@hellyj click on the Cisco Webex Meeting link above

Here are the meeting notes (the google doc will remain open if anyone wants to add any topics for next time):

Notes:

UNAVCO GMT for Geodesy course at Scripps (remote):

  • Need to refine online setup
  • Maybe use exercises they do before to test the setup like Dave does for GMTSAR
  • Might be good to keep doing remote workshops (easier than flying places)
  • Would be good to have a lot of helpers to keep an eye on the chat for questions.
  • Experienced users would be great for this (Kristof, for example :slight_smile:
  • Start from the material from last year https://github.com/GenericMappingTools/2019-unavco-course

Development updates:

  • Paul went through renaming things in the code to be more consistent.
  • Better split between supplements and core. Found some bugs in the previous implementation. Dongdong improved the cmake to make this magic work. Need documentation still. No changes to core API needed to do all this :crossed_fingers:.
  • Should these non-official API functions just become part of the API? Probably no but should be spelled out clearly. But MB-System uses undocumeted parts and we already take care not to break their code. So something has to be done.
  • Paul made 2 new modules (in a day!): grdmix (mix/blend images and grids) and batch (map a script over datafiles/etc in parallel; based on movie). Walter uses xargs but batch might be more generic and cross-platform.

Postdoc position:

  • Moving through the UH system.
  • Remote work is allowed due to covid etc.
  • Have to be in the US for tax reasons.

6.1.0 release:

  • Maybe have periodic minor releases (every 6 months) so that we don’t have to think about what goes in the release. Keeps the changelog easier to write/read.
  • But renaming and other developments might have caused some bugs and breaking changes. So it could be risky to put out 6.1 still.
  • Keeping separate branches could help but it’s very cumbersome and we end up not doing.
  • Add instructions to contributing docs to help keep this organized.

General discussion:

1 Like

@pwessel Don’t forget to upload the meeting video recording to the YouTube channel.

The recording (audio only - darn WebEx) is now on the GMT YouTube channel

1 Like

We should overlay the audio on that GMT mid-ocean ridge tour Paul made :slightly_smiling_face:

Would either need to loop or render a slower and longer animation.