GMT.jl: How to use a cpt with imshow?

I’m a Julia beginner and try to figure out how to get imshow to color my terrain:

imshow(G3, fmt=:png, color="faa.cpt")

Doesn’t work for me I end up with a grayscale image and the following message:

Warning: the following options were not consumed in grdimage => [:color]

How do I correctly specify a CPT?

Hmm, it should have worked. Must investigate why it didn’t.
Notice, imshow is wrapper to grdimage and grdview and it does lots of guessing. Apparently some wizard power is failing in this case. I’m betting that’s because you are trying to plot an image and setting the cpt, which probably GMT itself does not accept. Now that I’m writing this it does ring a bell.

As a general advise to learn the GMT,jl way, use the option Vd to print the GMT command that is generated under the hood. Vd=1 prints and executes, Vd=2 just prints it. E.g.

imshow(G3, color="faa.cpt", Vd=2)
Warning: the following options were not consumed in grdimage => [:color]
"grdimage  -R10.5098611111111/11.4101388888889/46.6298611111111/47.1401388888889 -JX14c/0 -Baf -BWSen -n+a -D -P -K > C:\\TMP\\GMTjl_tmp.ps"

The other advise is to read at least this

Yes, that’s on purpose. You cannot set a CPT in grdimage when input is an image.
But this case should caught earlier and print a meaningful error message. Please open an issue in GMT.jl for this

Besides, the solution for this case is failing too. And that would be to use the image_cpt! function. This should have worked

C = gmtread("faa.cpt");
image_cpt!(G3, C)
imshow(G3)

Issue #574 created.

Wise words … I skimmed it but more in-depth reading & learning is definitely necessary. Thank you for the Vd=1 and Vd=2 tips!

Is that the error you are talking about?

G = gmtread("alps2.grd", layout="TRB");
G2 = GMT.texture_img(G);
makecpt(cmap=:dem4, cptname="my_dem4.cpt");
C = gmtread("my_dem4.cpt");
hill = gdaldem("alps2.grd", "hillshade", zfactor=2.5);
color = gdaldem("alps2.grd", "color-relief", C);