How to paste seafloor age grids together?

Hello GMT community,

I would like to fill the gaps in the age grid model of Eagles et al. 2004 (eagles_pacarray.png) with that of Muller et al. 2008 (muller_pacarray.png) ages. I’m still learning GMT and have got the following command:

gmt grdpaste EaglesAgeGrid.nc MullerAgeGrid.nc -Geagles_n_muller.n -V -fg

The error I receive is:
grdpaste [ERROR]: Grid intervals do not match!

How do I go about resampling the grids for even intervals and adding the models together?

Thank you for your help!

(

I think you are misunderstanding what grdpaste does. Imagine you have a AB.grd grid and use grdcut to split it into

grdcut AB.grd -R<1st-half-AB-domain> -GA.grd

and

grdcut AB.grd -R<2nd-half-AB-domain> -GB.grd

then you undo the previous ops with

grdpaste A.grd B.grd -GAB.grd

Next thing is … I don’t see any holes in fig1 that could be filled with data from fig2

Thank you for the clarification @Joaquim!

I was thinking about filling the gap in contour intervals in Figure 1 in the northeast region and the contours north of the Osbourn Trough. The purpose to eventually look at the age/depth curves for the bathymetry like in example 49 of the example gallery (https://docs.generic-mapping-tools.org/6.2/gallery/ex49.html). I thought with the gap in data in the northeast region that’s why I couldn’t use the strategy of ex49 with Figure 1’s age grid.

There are no holes in the grids so your intention seems to be to replace parts of a grid with data coming from another another. That’s more tricky. It will require creating a mask grid with a polygon delimiting the patch to be replaced, mask grid 1, do the opposite masking in grid 2, convert both to xyz with grd2xyz, cat the two ensembles and convert to grid again with xyz2grd.