How to plot 2D ndarray data onto Coastlines? (python)

Hello. I have 2D ndarray data of shape 33 x 37 which looks like this:

It’s basically k-means categorisation of wind data above the Adriatic sea. To verify the validity of the algorithm, I need to georeference it.

I was wondering if there is a way to plot the data (as a grid or contours, I guess?) onto the coastlines of the region? Am I even approaching the problem the right way?

Much obliged.

N.B. I do have the latitude and longitude coordinates in 2 1D arrays which correspond to the i and j index of the 2D ndarray, if it helps?

I think i figured it out, I’m still new to GMT so it’s probably a jurybuilt solution.

The key is using xarray and gridimage.

Kmeans is the 2D data array shown in the question.

Coast has to be put after the gridimage, otherwise it comes out wrong.

Hopefully this helps, but I’m still open for any suggestion and tips. Thanks :slight_smile:

N.B. specifically for plotting k-means data, I had to set

interpolation = "n"

in

fig.grdimage

Hi @ljeonjko, sorry for the late reply. It looks like you’ve learned to use xarray to set coordinates to your 2D numpy ndarray. This is actually what xarray is designed for (applying labels to n-dimensional data), so I’m glad you figured it out!

If you’re looking to plot contours instead, you could take that xarray DataArray grid and pass it into fig.grdcontour. See the tutorial at https://www.pygmt.org/latest/tutorials/contour_map.html for an example.

Feel free to post your output figure and code (in text preferably) so that we can have a better look and advice on how to improve things :wink:

1 Like

Hi @weiji14, thanks for the reply! :slight_smile:

The output figure is this:

As far as I’m concerned, this is perfect, since my task was to plot K-means data onto the coastline plot, though I have yet to hear back from my mentors. :slight_smile: