NEWBIE : Can GMT plot trajectories on a map in realtime?

Hello,

I am complete newbie on GMT. I have no experience what so ever. I am in search of mapping tool to use in my thesis. I need to plot streaming trajectories on a map. The trajectories or routes of vehicles need to be update when the data becomes available. Can GMT do that.

I am long time linux/unix user. I understand the GMT philosophy but not sure about real time map update capabilities. If the answer is yes, I am going to invest on it. If the answer is no, could GMT community advise me a tool that can do that?

I am mainly coding in julia. GMT cought my attension since it has julia api.

I appreciate any directions, insights.

Thanks in advance

Hi @benibilme,

Thanks for your interest in GMT. But we need to know a bit more about your specific needs. In particular the β€œplot streaming trajectories”. How are those calculated? And the update procedure, you do that with some Julia code I guess.
Overall, I would say β€œno problem” but as mentioned, more info is wellcome.

1 Like

Hello,

Thank you for responding.

I am planing to plot vehicle data in general structure of (vehicle_id, time, lat, long). The data will be plotted as it is received from a channel.

For the sake of creating a working environment, I will try to plot open taxi data that exists in the internet for several cities, like new york, beijin, cincinnati, stockholm etc. I will read the data from file and send through channel to simulate the environment. Plotting process will simply plot received location of the vehicle on the map in addition to previously plotted locations. I need to extend the trajectory to last updated location for the trajectory to be seen. The underlaying map needs to be updated as soon as I update the trajectory. I will have to update the map at least every minute or so with many points of many trajectories.

Can GMT do that?