No module issue when importing pygmt

Hi,
I’m new to gmt and pygmt.
I tried installing it according the scripts for anaconda but when i try to test it it doesn’t recognize pygmt as a module.
Removed and reinstalled anaconda and its packages and then reinstalled pygmt.
Now i got pygmt as a kernel but yet i get the same result when i try to import pygmt .
I am using windows 10.

thank you for your time

It seems that where python does not work in Anaconda Powershell. Here is an alternate option for checking that the path to python is correct:

conda activate pygmt
python
import sys
print(sys.executable)

For me, this returns a string that is clearly the python interpreter in the conda environment (C:\Users\User\anaconda3\envs\pygmt\python.exe). If your python.exe is not inside the pygmt conda environment folder, you need to update your path.

For debugging, it would also help if you can post whether this problem is unique to pygmt or extends to other packages in the conda environment. For example, xarray should be installed in the pygmt env, so this should work:

python
import xarray

the conda environment has python in it but still won’t import pygmt, neither xarray…

Is the error inside Anaconda Powershell Prompt the same as in the Jupyter Notebook? In other words, do these command in Powershell give the ModuleNotFoundError:

conda activate pygmt
python
import pygmt

no, there is no error in the anaconda powershell

(base) PS C:\Windows\system32> conda activate pygmt
(pygmt) PS C:\Windows\system32> python
Python 3.9.4 | packaged by conda-forge | (default, May 10 2021, 22:10:34) [MSC v.1916 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type “help”, “copyright”, “credits” or “license” for more information.

import pygmt

Do NOT run anything from this directory. You are asking for troubles.