GMT 6.0.0 problem in modern mode

Hello Everyone,

My name is Harold, and I joined GMT today. I am a senior undergraduate student from Tanzania, Ardhi University. I am new to GMT and I ask for your support and cooperation.

I’m currently having a problem with the GMT 6.0.0 in modern mode. I’m trying a very simple code but it wont work.
Code:
gmt begin tmp png
gmt basemap -R25/45/-15/5 -JM6i -Ba5g5
gmt coast -R25/45/-15/5 -JM6i -L28/-14+c-14+w500k+u+f -BWSne+t"Map" -Dh -N1/0.5p -W1p -Gyellow -Scornflowerblue
gmt end

If I execute the code, the CLI produces an error message:

c:\Users\Dr Ulotu\Desktop\gmt\grd>final.bat

c:\Users\Dr Ulotu\Desktop\gmt\grd>gmt begin tmp png

c:\Users\Dr Ulotu\Desktop\gmt\grd>gmt basemap -R25/45/-15/5 -JM6i -Ba5g5

c:\Users\Dr Ulotu\Desktop\gmt\grd>gmt coast -R25/45/-15/5 -JM6i -L28/-14+c-14+w5
00k+u+f -BWSne+t"Map" -Dh -N1/0.5p -W1p -Gyellow -Scornflowerblue

c:\Users\Dr Ulotu\Desktop\gmt\grd>gmt end
psconvert [ERROR]: Error for input file: No such file ('C:/Users/Dr)
psconvert [ERROR]: Syntax error: No listed input files allowed under modern GMT
mode
end [ERROR]: Failed to call psconvert
end [ERROR]: process_figures returned error 71

I’m using Windows 7 Professional 64-bits.
The gmt-6.0.0-win64.exe was downloaded from: https://github.com/GenericMappingTools/gmt/releases/tag/6.0.0

Thank you in advance for your kind help,
Best regards,
Harold Ulotu.

Hi Harold,

Well come to GMT.

• Cryptic answer to your question. You should not have told your computer that you are a Dr
  • Understandable answer. Spaces in names are a very very bad habit that leads only to troubles. Your home dir has a space c:\Users\Dr Ulotu\... and that made it fall into an GMT issue where those cases were not detected. This has been fixed in developing version but while that does not came out officialy, your only choice it to work from directories that have no spaces in their names (which you should do ALL the times).