Can I work with a .txt file for grdimage in gmt6?

Hello Everyone!
I have been trying to find a solution to this question. In GMT6, can i use the txt files as input to the grdimage function in gmt6? I am new to GMT6, unable to plot geographic lat lon gridded data, since its saying to use netcdf4 format for the grid.

Can anyone please tell me how can I work with a text file/ csv file data. My data has first two columns as the latitude and longitude with the third column as the data to be plotted (z value).

Please help me out!

You can not. grdimage expects a grid or an image.
If your data actually represents a grid then run xyz2grd on it to make a grid. If your data is not already on an equidistant grid then you must grid it first, e.g., via blockmean then surface, for instance. See gallery examples for some ways to do this.

Dear sir, Thank you very much for giving the reply.
Mean while, I used Pygmt to solve the problem using grdimage. I converted my lat/lon data to a xarray and the plotted the data. Everything is working perfect, however there are some horizontal lines are coming and making the figure irrelavant. I am attaching an image of the figure below, please see this.

The code I used to produce this is as follows:
data1=xr.DataArray(data=datf[0,:,:],dims=[‘x’,‘y’],coords={‘y’:np.arange(-178,182,2),‘x’:np.arange(-90,90,2)})

fig=pygmt.Figure()
pygmt.makecpt(cmap=“jet”, series=[0, 1, 0.1])
fig.grdimage(grid=data1,projection=“N0/12c”,nan_transparent=True, frame=“f”,shading=True)
fig.coast(shorelines=True,water=“snow2”)

fig.colorbar(position=‘JMR’,
frame=[“af”,“x+l#CDHWe”],
scale=1,)
fig.show()

the image that is produced is below.

The problem I noticed is with the Shorelines= True command. If I am keeping the shoreline=False, there are no horizontal lines in the plot. But for my publication-related figure, I need to have the shorelines=True option for better quality plots.

Can you please share your ideas about this, I will be much obliged.